Subseries CPC/1/F - Revolutionary History

Long live the dictatorship of the proletariat. Gutian Conference Human bridge Zunyi Jinggangshan Shaoshan Yan'an Newsboy(Film about Zhou EnLai) Newsboy(Film about Zhou EnLai) Victoriously seize control of the country
Results 1 to 10 of 13 Show all

Identity area

Reference code



Revolutionary History


Level of description


Extent and medium

13 pieces

Context area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The Polytechnic of Central London (PCL) was redesignated as the University of Westminster following the Higher and Further Education Act (1992), which created a single funding council, the Higher Education Funding Council, for England and abolished the remaining distinctions between polytechnics and universities. As a university, Westminster gained the power to grant its own degrees. The name was changed from "Polytechnic of Central London" to "University of Westminster" by Special Resolution passed on 30 March 1993 with the consent of the Privy Council given on 16 June 1992. The objects of the Company (PCL had been incorporated in 1970) were altered by a Special Resolution on 17 May 1994. The redrafted Memorandum and Articles of Association defining the University's responsibilities and constitutional framework came into operation on 25 May 1994. (N.B. The 1992 presentation ceremony programme details that the University came into existence on 25 June 1992.)

The merger of Harrow College of Higher Education and PCL in 1990 was followed in 1991 by the commissioning of an Accommodation Strategy. This identified the legacy of the fragmented and widely dispersed estate, spread across more than 20 sites. The University has been consolidating onto its main sites in the West End, at Marylebone Road, and at Harrow. A major redevelopment of the Harrow site was completed in 1995 to house the School of Communication (now the School of Communication and Creative Industries). Little Titchfield Street was then refurbished to house the School of Law (completed in 1998), and its former site in Red Lion Square, acquired through the amalgamation with Holborn College of Law, Languagues and Commerce in 1970, sold.

In 1997/98 the University introduced a new devolved structure based on four campuses - Cavendish, Harrow, Marylebone and Regent - supported by a small core of central service units. In 1998 the University acquired the Policy Studies Institute and also the London School of Acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine, and in the same year opened Polyclinic for the teaching and provision of complementary therapies.

Further information on the University is available on its website:

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Access is subject to signing the Regulations for Access form, unless the records are restricted under the Data Protection Act 2018 or under exemptions in the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • Chinese

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places